Just another WordPress.com site

Wilfredo Lam

                                      Composition rouge et jaune, 1963, Wilfred Lam

This piece by Wifredo Lam jumped out at me when I was browsing through the Mexican/Latino galleries linked to the Non-Western Assignment page.  I especially like the colors (red, black, yellow, white) of this lithograph. They are very vivid and energetic, show anger and intensity and remind me at two things. One is the cover art of one of my favorite music albums New Model Army’s Love for hopeless  causes. Whenever I see this cover picture, I get a warm fuzzy feeling.
Wilfred Lams painting also reminds me at revolution propaganda  posters. I am not making any political statement at this point, but revolution means for me hope and the belief in new and good.  Revolution means for me also being able to try to fulfill ones dreams and I think we all need more little personal Revolutions in our lives.
Other than that I am not sure what the lithograph shows, but the sweeping arrow-like part of the piece reminds me of a falcon or other bird of prey whizzing through the air.

Wifredo Óscar de la Concepción Lam y Castilla (his whole name) was born in Cuba, but moved to Paris as soon as he became an adult.  He befriended Pablo Picasso, and joined the group of Surrealist artists of the time.  During World War II he moved back to Cuba, and then eventually returned to Paris after the war was over. He was unique in that he was heavily influenced by both Latin American, African, and European Art. He had over 100 personal exhibitions, and was a world-renowned artist.  He died in Paris in 1982.

http://www.matta-art.com/lam/lam.htm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wifredo_Lam
http://www.spaightwoodgalleries.com/Pages/Lam.html

2 responses

  1. I really like this piece, in a way it reminds me of Piet Mondrian’s works. It is much more passionate and sharp, however. I too like the vivid colors. This painting confuses me more than similar paintings for some reason, maybe the angles of the lines. So I take it that since he returned to Paris after the war this originated in Paris?

    April 27, 2011 at 6:38 am

  2. Love how you explained your meaning of revolution and how the painting reminds you of that. At first glance i saw a mosquito, but loved the colors, because i have seen quite a few mosquito’s already.

    Good thing he didn’t partake in the absurdity of Picasso’s art while befriending him. 😛

    April 27, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Leave a Reply

